We were cool.

I mean, that was the main idea.

Not really effortlessly through,

More like planned. Effortful.

‘What made them so cool?’ people asked.

Why, we barely did anything at all.

Stood at the laundry mat, walked the beachfront.

A little hat-tipping, nose tapping, winking and nodding.

Nothing at all.

We were on the inside of it.

Whatever it was.

The group! We needed our group.

Our faithful sponsors of cool,

We went to meetings.

Far from individuals,

Cool only in context.


Smoking reefer in the leafy lane,

I passed you on my board.

You looked up for just a second,

To make sure I’d noticed how cool you were.

To make sure I was watching.

I made sure you were making sure.

I kicked on past peeling, painted bricks,

Smelling your smoke.

I kept going.

I felt your eyes on me.


Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. December 18, 2011

    I really enjoyed the flow of this one, thank you for sharing!

  2. December 18, 2011

    Reblogged this on Make Something Every Day and commented:
    For my husbsnd. Because we both love a swim up bar…

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS